KMUZ History

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Claude E. Rorabaugh
    Participant

I wish to set matters clear on KMUZ 94.7 FM. I was a corporate officer, VP and General Manager of KMUZ Am/Fm, and the working partner.

Dick Schwary was a promoter, then the local community contact and was not an investor in Pacific NW Broadcasting. Dick was offered monetary consideration for his efforts when the stations were sold to Apogee (Roy Disney) before the swap with Entercom.

The late William F. King was made President but not active in daily management. Bill, like me, had worked for Park stations and had some community recognition in Portland with his past KWJJ experiences.

I moved from Seattle in the Spring of ’92 to run the KMUZ stations and to acquire others. Due to the diffulculty in getting the FM on air due to technical issues with short spacing of adjacent frequencies in Seattle and Eugene and Schwary opening his mouth about tower sites, we had significant delays in finding a tower location and got the FM on air by Thanksgiving ’92.

I became disillusioned with the partners, their adult kids working at the station (mine was in second grade then) and, girl friend issues and thus walked out in the winter of ’93. I was disappointed that the FM sold for so little, but that was part of a Entercom master plan to which the inexperienced partners were not aware.

My plan was to get the FM on sooner, acquire KWYZ in Everett, the former KSPO 1230 in Spokane and have a regional class IV chain that could run paid programs to finance more FM’s.

On well, it was only money and at age 40, I started all over again and became very successful in private educational services.

And yes, the late Marshall Moss had a terrible temper. He’d do end runs around me to the other partners.

Andy Brown
    Participant