Happy Thanksgiving 2015

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Broadway
    Participant

Each year everyone is especially grateful on Thanksgiving day for the blessings of family and friends to enjoy company with and for all the provisions of life we have. I am very thankful my “post traditional radio days” for my wife and I empty nesters to be solvent financially and for me to be part time in ventures that help people in my city weekly…kinda like old radio days! I work part time in retail, have an online webcast radio station, and am mostly challenged by facilitating a dozen faith groups that provide a dinner meal to the downtown homeless in my city. That alone has really stretched me even to this day as I have been rubbing shoulders with the homeless community for about a dozen years now. It’s so hard to relate to a homeless person with my life background yet in getting into their lives I begin to relate and grasp their struggles and try to encourage and council. I loose motivation at times to head downtown yet when I am there and see all the synergy of a dozen people serving a great meal to needy people I get jazzed real fast…a miracle is happening before my eyes! Thankful to have the opportunity to serve “the least of these” this Thanksgiving!

Alfredo_T
    Participant

Every day–even if I have not had a good night’s rest–I am thankful that I awoke to see another day. I consider every day of life to be a privilege. Sadly, as I get older, my list of friends who are not so privileged grows longer. Some of these lost friends were truly great people who led exemplary lives, and the cognitive dissonance they are gone forever, despite the good that they brought to the people whom they touched, really hurts.

paulwalker
    Participant